State Civil Service Commission


COVID-19 UPDATE: The regular business meeting of the State Civil Service Commission, originally scheduled for April 1, 2020, has been canceled.

State Civil Service will continue to monitor the developments and safety recommendations related to COVID-19 and provide updates. Please continue to check our website and social media platforms for updates and/or changes to the situation.

The State Civil Service Commission is a seven-member body that has final authority over the administration of the State Civil Service system. The Commission serves as an impartial review board that enacts and adjudicates State Civil Service Rules to regulate state personnel activities, and hears appeals from state employees and agencies. Commission meetings and hearings are held monthly and are open to the public.

Six of the Commission members are appointed by the governor; the seventh is an employee representative elected by fellow state employees. Each member serves a six year term. When choosing an appointed member, the Governor must select from a list of three people nominated by the president of one of the state's major private universities. Current members of the Commission are listed below.

To contact Commission members, call the Department of State Civil Service at 225-342-8272 or reach them via email at

Member Name Nominated By Term Expires
David L. Duplantier, Chairman Loyola University 12/10/2024
D. Scott Hughes, Vice-Chairman Centenary College 12/10/2022
John McLure Louisiana College 12/10/2024
Curtis "Pete" Fremin Employee Representative 05/01/2023
G. Lee Griffin Tulane University 12/10/2022
Ronald M. Carrere Jr. Xavier University 12/10/2022
Jo Ann Nixon Dillard University 12/10/2020